Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Parent-Teacher Conference Letter from HMS Principal Mrs. Gatz
Parent-Teacher Conference Letter from HMS Principal Mrs. Gatz
Hiawatha USD 415
Wednesday, October 07, 2020

Hiawatha Middle School 
307 S. Morrill Avenue
Hiawatha, KS  66434
785-742-4172
(Fax) 785-742-1744 

Lonnie Moser, Superintendent                                                                    Ben Kettler, Activities Director
Kyley Gatz, Principal                                                                                                                Kim Krauter, Counselor


October 7, 2020

Dear Parents and/or Guardians,

As many of you may have heard, we will be facilitating parent-teacher conferences in a virtual manner in the upcoming week. Conferences will be held on Wednesday, October 14th from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. and on Thursday, October 15th from 4 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., with each conference scheduled for ten minutes. Students are encouraged to attend the virtual meeting as well. Parents and students may use the school-issued device for these conferences. Please note your student’s grade level and refer to the grade-specific information below: 

*5th Grade: If you would like to schedule a meeting with a specific teacher, please email at the address listed below or call the school by Monday, October 12th. If there are any concerns regarding your student’s academic progress, a teacher will notify you and request a virtual or phone conference. 

*6th Grade: If you would like to schedule a meeting with a specific teacher, please email at the address listed below or call the school by Monday, October 12th. If there are any concerns regarding your student’s academic progress, a teacher will notify you and request a virtual or phone conference. 

*7th Grade: Seventh grade parents and students will be notified of their assigned conference time via student and parent email. If your assigned conference time does not work for you, please call or email your student’s teacher to reschedule. These conferences will take place via Zoom with the link being accessible in your student’s email. If you do not have internet connectivity, a phone conference can be arranged. 

*8th Grade: If you would like to schedule a meeting with a specific teacher, please email at the address listed below or call the school by Monday, October 12th. If there are any concerns regarding your student’s academic progress, a teacher will notify you and request a virtual or phone conference. 

Again, parent-teacher conferences will not be held in the building. Please refer to the information above and feel free to call the middle school for questions or concerns. We are looking forward to this opportunity to visit with you about your child. 

Sincerely,

Kyley Gatz, Principal



Theresa Williams/5th Science

twilliams@usd415.org

Sara Smith/5th Math

ssmith@usd415.org

Danielle Hill/5th Social Studies

dhill@usd415.org

Crystal Willich/5th ELA

cwillich@usd415.org

Denise Elffner/6th Science

delffner@usd415.org

Linda Barnhill/6th ELA

lbarnhill@usd415.org

Tom Schmitz/6th Math

tschmitz@usd415.org

Brady Mulligan/6th History

bmulligan@usd415.org

Lisa Twombly/7th English

litwombly@usd415.org

Jill Hrencher/7th Math

jhrencher@usd415.org

Kelsey Lee/7th Science

klee@usd415.org

Andy Runer/7th History

aruner@usd415.org

Tim Abeita/8th History

tabeita@usd415.org

Kathleen Tryon/8th Math

ktryon@usd415.org

Kristin Lock/8th English

klock@usd415.org

Brian Lillie/8th Science

blillie@usd415.org

Karie Covert/Art

kcovert@usd415.org

Sara Campbell/Girls PE

scampbell@usd415.org

Ben Kettler/Boys PE

bekettler@usd415.org

Kylah Bateman/Band

kbateman@usd415.org

Billy Hatfield/Vocal

bhatfield@usd415.org

Darrin Arment/Applied Tech

darment@usd415.org

Sharon Goering/FACS

sgoering@usd415.org

Rachel Bloom/IRC

rbloom@usd415.org

Terri McNally/IRC

tmcnally@usd415.org

Val Tollefson/IRC

vtollefson@usd415.org

Marissa LeMay/Title I Reading

mlemay@usd415.org

Nolan Sump/Gifted

nsump@usd415.org

Kim Krauter/Counselor

kkrauter@usd415.org

Whitlea Simmons/Social Wkr

wsimmons@usd415.org



The mission of Hiawatha Middle School is to provide all students with life-long learning skills and opportunities for academic, personal, and social growth in a safe and orderly environment. The educational program is designed to enable students to become productive citizens in an ever-changing society.