Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


School Board Recognition

Story image 1_0

January 2018 School Board Recognition

Kansas Association of School Boards


The job of a school board member is tough, the hours are long and the thanks are few and far between.

It is all too easy to put off saying “thank you” to this group of individuals who work tirelessly on behalf of our children and grandchildren.


They spend countless hours preparing to make decisions, participating in meetings and attending school activities and events. The locally elected school board is deeply rooted in U.S. tradition, as is public education. Our state has a proud tradition of support for public education, in fact in 1966 the people of Kansas amended our state’s constitution to specifically call for local public schools that are maintained, be developed and operated by locally elected boards.


January 2018 is designated as “School Board Recognition Month,” and we encourage you take the time to express appreciation to these seven remarkable individuals.


John Wright               17 years of service

Dr. Pete Rosa’            15 years of service

Jeff Brockhoff              3 years of service

Keith Erdley                  1 year of service

Tom Simmer                3 years of service

Amy Kopp                     3 years of service

Ian Scheutz                   5 years of service